ABL Club Certificate 1946

Our Story

The Chesapeake Wheelmen were founded in 1946 is one of the oldest clubs in the United States and the oldest in the state of Maryland. The club commemorates the founders by naming the club championship trophies after them. Every fall the Wheelmen host a three race series, sometimes over three days, consisting of a time trial, road race, and a criterium with the highest placing rider in the “A” category being awarded the historic “Lauf-Fuller Trophy”, while the “B” category winner takes home the George “Sandy” Sandruck trophy.

The photos accompanying this club biography are from the estate of George Sandruck, Jr. We invite you to read others’ comments on the photos. <click here>

Historic Members

Art Lauf – born 1921 in Germany, came to the US at 3. Farmer by trade, built houses, father of two girls – Christie and Kathy, married to Millie Lauf. 13 times Maryland State Champion, rode six day races, three times National BAR Champion. Liked hills, rode everyday, could dress and undress on rollers, rode a Harley Davidson motorcycle. Died 1969 of a brain tumor.

Clyde Nitz – long time cycling supporter & promoter in the 50’s and 60’s. Still holds the unpaced Baltimore – Philadelphia record. Printer by trade.

George Clayton Sandruk, Sr. – ran a bike shop in Baltimore, Maryland; father of George Sandruk.

George Sandruck, Jr. – worked as an engineer at Martin Marietta in Baltimore, Maryland. Former district representative, founder and long time officer of the Chesapeake Wheelmen. George passed away in 2000.

1946Chesapeake Wheelmen Founded
by Clyde Nitz
1949James Lauf
wins National Championship
1952James Lauf
Olympic Team
Tour of Mexico stage winner
1995<August newsletter>
April 1997Heritage Park Time Trail
Warsaw, VA
April 1998Tour De Warsaw
Warsaw, VA
August 1998Eat A Peach Tour
Westminster MD
Fund raiser for the Brain Injury
Association of MD
Nov. 1998Cat Point Cyclocross
Heritage Park
Warsaw, VA
Sept. 1999Tour de Prince Georges
Bowie MD
Oct. 2004Gwyns Falls Trail Cyclocross
Sept. 2005Gwyns Falls Trail Cyclocross
July 200660th Anniversary Criterium
Bowie, MD
2007 – 2017Highway To Heaven
Hill Climb Time Trial

Meet the Club

The current officers.


Kornel Schuebel

Vice President

John Cox


Eric Lee